The nominations for this year’s Writers Guild of America Television Awards has been announced.

Cable networks dominated this years WGA nominations, which aim to recognize achievement in television, news, radio, and animation writing.

Competing in the ‘Best Drama Series‘ category: ‘Breaking Bad, Boardwalk Empire, The Good Wife, Homeland, and Game of Thrones.

The Producers Guild Awards prompted outrage when they announced their own award nominations for ‘Best Drama’ did not include ‘Breaking Bad’ – One of the most critically acclaimed TV series currently airing.

Both Game of Thrones and Homeland are also nominated in the ‘Best New Series‘ category, where it will be up against The Killing, Episodes, and New Girl.

Competing for ‘Best Comedy Series‘: 30 Rock, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Louis, Modern Family, and Parks & Recreation.

The usual faces can be found in the ‘Best Comedy/Variety Series‘ category, with last years winner The Colbert Report going up against Conan, The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, Real Time with Bill Maher, and Saturday Night Live.

There were just three nominees for the ‘Best Daytime Drama‘ after last years winner ‘As the World Tuns’ wrapped production after 54 years: All My Children, General Hospital and The Young & The Restless.

Breaking Bad and Boardwalk Empire lead the nominations for ‘Best Episodic Drama‘ with two slots each; with Dexter and Homeland also nominated.

Long running animated series ‘The Simpsons’ is widely recognized by the guild this year, with four of its episodes dominating the six slots available for ‘Best Animation‘; with Ben 10: Ultimate Alien and Futurama also nominated.

‘Modern Family’ and ‘The Office’ lead the ‘Best Episodic Comedy‘ category with two nominations each; with 30 Rock and Weeds also recognized.

The PBS television network received a total of 15 nominations, followed by HBO (10), ABC (9), and both CBS and NBC (7).

The winners will be announced at the WGA Awards, which will take place at two simultaneous ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles on February 9, 2012.