R&B songstress Lauryn Hill has recorded a cover of Nina Simone’s “Feeling Good” for a compilation album accompanying Netflix’s upcoming Nina Simone documentary, What Happened, Miss Simone?.

Many of Simone’s most iconic songs will be represented on the album, covered by some of the biggest R&B artists of the day; including Mary J. Blige, Usher, Common, Alice Smith, and Simone’s own daughter Lisa.

Interestingly, Hill originally signed on to record just two songs for the album. But it seems she got carried away and somehow ended up recording a total of six songs for the album – All of which made it on to the record. She also managed to snag a production credit; acting as a producer for the entire album alongside critically acclaimed pianist Robert Glasper.

“Because I fed on this music, both hers and lovers like her, like my basic food, I believed I always had a right to have a voice. Her example is clearly a form of sustenance to a generation needing to find theirs. What a gift,” Hill said in a statement explaining her affinity to Simone’s music.

“Feeling Good” is the first track to be released from the record, which is titled Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone, and due to drop on Friday, July 10.

The Netflix documentary, directed by Liz Garbus, will premiere on June 26.

Check out the album’s track listing below:

  1. Lisa Simone – “Nobody’s Fault but Mine (Intro)”
  2. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Feeling Good”
  3. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “I’ve Got Life” – Ms. Lauryn Hill
  4. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Ne Me Quitte Pas” – Ms. Lauryn Hill
  5. Jazmine Sullivan “Baltimore”
  6. Grace – “Love Me or Leave Me”
  7. Usher – “My Baby Just Cares For Me”
  8. Mary J. Blige – “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”
  9. Gregory Porter – “Sinnerman”
  10. Common & Lalah Hathaway – “YG&B”
  11. Alice Smith – “I Put A Spell On You”
  12. Lisa Simone – “I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl”
  13. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair”
  14. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Wild Is The Wind”
  15. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “African Mailman”
  16. Nina Simone – “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free”